Actor as Jack Jouett Riding Horse

Jack Jouett Chapter NSDAR
Diane Inman, Webmaster

Web hyperlinks to non-DAR sites are not the responsibility of the NSDAR, the state organizations, or individual DAR chapters.

Horseman photo taken by chapter member, Victoria Ligon, at the 'British Invasion of 1781' at Monticello, 2017.

Website Hosted By:


Website Hosted By:

Monticello Avenue

This document was last modified:
Monday, 09-Jul-2018 22:12:05 EDT

Jack Jouett Chapter

National Society Daughters of the American Revolution

Charlottesville, Virginia

Est. February 13, 1922

On December 21, 1921, in response to an invitation from Mrs. Isabel Mason Evans Cochran (Mrs. Joel Minter Cochran), several ladies met at her home to take the preliminary steps to form a chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution. Dr. Kate Waller Barrett, Virginia State Regent, expressed her pleasure with the plan. She assured the ladies of her cooperation. She reminded them of existing regulations which required that they use a post offce other than Charlottesville. She suggested Rio. Mrs Cochran was appointed Organizing Regent. The names of eighteen members who had gone 'at large' in order to become members of the new chapter were sent to the Organizing Secretary General, NSDAR.

The chapter was given the name 'Thomas Jefferson'. Its first official meeting was held on January 7, 1922, at which time bylaws were adopted.

Because a chapter of the National Society bore the name 'Thomas Jefferson', it was necessary to select another name for the fledgling chapter. Mrs. J. Cooke Grayson (Jennie) suggested the name Jack Jouett, in honor of the Revolutionary patriot, Captain Jack Jouett, Jr.

Mrs. Grayson wrote the history of Jack Jouett’s ride, verifying his Revolutionary service. Click here to read her account:

Our newly-restored chapter charter is dated March 23, 1926. It contains the names of 36 charter members. This charter is considered a primary source document for these residents of the Charlottesville area.

Original Officers

  • Regent
  • First Vice Regent
  • Recording Secretary
  • Corresponding Secretary
  • Treasurer
  • Registrar
  • Historian
  • Mrs. Isabel Evans Cochran
  • Mrs. James Fulton Williams
  • Mrs. James Estill Irvine
  • Mrs. Jennie Thornley Grayson (John Cooke)
  • Mrs. Orie Slaughter Fitzhugh
  • Miss Mary G. Fletcher
  • Mrs. Arthur T. Ewing (Mae Harvey?)

On April 9, 1924, an engraved brass star, purchased at Tiffany and Company, in honor of Jack Jouett and his historic ride was placed on the top step of the east portico at Monticello. On June 4th, the anniversary of Jack Jouett’s ride, the star was unveiled by the chapter. That star is still on view at Monticello. However, because of heavy foot traffic, it was necessary to have it re-engraved some years ago, and moved to the west portico.

On September 6, 1926, the Jack Jouett Chapter unveiled a bronze tablet and boulder which marks the place where Jack began his famous ride in Cuckoo, Louisa County, Virginia. The site was given for the sum of $1 plus 50¢ processing fee by Dr. Eugene Pendleton whose family has owned Cuckoo since 1818. The deed to that property is still held by the chapter.

The first gavel was given to the chapter by the General John Smith Chapter, United States Daughters of the War of 1812. The wood for the gavel came from Fort McHenry in Baltimore, Maryland. The gavel has a silver, engraved plaque bearing this information and the date of January 1923. Mrs. Isabel Cochran had founded that chapter.

In observance of the 250th anniversary of Thomas Jefferson’s birth on April 13, 1993, the Jack Jouett Chapter donated approximately 40 white mulberry trees to Monticello at a cost of $5000, which, today, constitute 'Mulberry Row.'

Today the ninety members of Jack Jouett Chapter continue to carry out the objectives of Patriotism, Historic Preservation and Education with involvement in a variety of endeavors.

We participate in Memorial Day, Flag Day, 4th of July, Constitution Day and Veterans Day activities. We support ‘Project Patriot’. Several members conduct a tee-shirt designing class at Jack Jouett Middle School to emphasize the first ten amendments of the Constitution. We collect used flags to be ‘retired’ by American Legion Post #74. We have adopted a cemetery on Hydraulic Road. We place flags on military graves there for patriotic holidays. We participate in the 'British Invasion of 1781' held at Monticello the first weekend in June to re-enact Jack Jouett's ride.

We award certificates, medals, and scholarship money to students in the areas of history, good citizenship, music and art.

We have provided books about Jack Jouett to school and public libraries in our area. Our yearly literacy project has provided books and volunteers for summer reading programs as well as programs during the regular school year.

Several years ago, members of the chapter invited other Virginia and Kentucky Daughters to join them on a trip to Jack Jouett House in Versailles, KY to find out the 'rest of the story.' The group spent several days exploring the area, learning what happened to Jack and his family there.

Our members use computer skills to study family genealogy. Computer workshops teach members how to research their patriots.

In 2016 - 2017 chapter member, Diane Inman, author of the children's book, 'Buddy and the Chickens, and illustrator, Pat Lattin of Culpeper Minutemen chapter won the National First Place in Literacy award.

In 2017 - 2018 Jack Jouett Chapter nominated Chris Shedd of Burley Middle School as DAR American History of the Year. Chris went on to win the State and National awards.

Past Regents

  • Isabel Mason Evans Cochran
  • Ora/Orie Slaughter Fitzhugh
  • Jennie Thornley Grayson
  • Katherine B. Grayson Reynolds
  • Nettie Thompson Hanckel
  • Katherine B. Grayson Reynolds
  • - State Regent
  • Susan Byrd Wills Pegau
  • Elizabeth Bruce Brooke Ritchie
  • Nettie Thompson Hanckel
  • Nettie Thompson Hanckel
  • Genevieve Forbes Morse
  • Virginia Phillips Yancey
  • Mary Craig Owens
  • Mary Elizabeth ‘Bess’ Herring McLeod
  • Alice Jamison Thompson
  • Elizabeth Keeling McKenzie Wallenborn
  • Sallie Pugh Haden
  • Jean Printz
  • Isabel Cochran McCue
  • Alice Tucker Johnson
  • Beverly Parker Kelsey
  • Julia Graves Nunley
  • Louise Mosby Stephens Cropp
  • Buena Vista Speake Meem
  • Mary Margaret Davis Shelton
  • Yates Carr Garnett
  • Yates Carr Garnett
  • Nell A. McFarland
  • Lucy Welbourn Johnson
  • Judith Joy Surber
  • Judith Joy Surber
  • - State Regent
  • Beverly Healy Hankins
  • Rebecca Sue Given Wilson
  • Thelma 'Diane' Russell Inman
  • 1922 – 1926
  • 1926 – 1928
  • 1928 – 1929
  • 1929 – 1932
  • 1932 - 1935
  • 1935 – 1938
  • 1941 - 1944
  • 1938 - 1941
  • 1941 - 1942
  • 1942 - 1944
  • 1944 - 1947
  • 1947 - 1950
  • 1950 - 1953
  • 1953 – 1956
  • 1956 – 1959
  • 1959 – 1962
  • 1962 – 1965
  • 1965 – 1968
  • 1968 – 1971
  • 1971 – 1974
  • 1974 – 1977
  • 1977 – 1979
  • 1979 – 1980
  • 1980 – 1983
  • 1983 – 1986
  • 1986 – 1989
  • 1989 – 1992
  • 1992 - 1995
  • 1995 – 1998
  • 1998 – 2001
  • 2001 – 2004
  • 2004 – 2007
  • 2016 – 2019
  • 2007 – 2010
  • 2010 – 2013
  • 2013 – 2016

Candle Candle
The words - In Memoriam - in script Scroll Separator

Alice Lorraine Wallenborn
February 21, 2016

Scroll Separator

Elizabeth Talbot Smith Alford
(Mrs. Neill Herbert, Jr.)
March 28, 2015

Scroll Separator

Mary Jean Printz
December 1, 2014

Scroll Separator

Courtney Bowdoin Elliott
March 31, 2014

Scroll Separator

Doris Jean Martin Hunter
(Mrs. Carl Doering)
June 24, 2013

Scroll Separator

Eileen Danforth Barth
(Mrs. August Theodore)
March 10, 2013

Scroll Separator